Competition Blooms Into Season One Final Time


Monday, 11 July 2016


Today the 2016 Garden Competition officially opens with local green thumbs making final preparations.

This year signifies the end of an era for the three decade strong event; as the format, applicant pool and eligibility criteria will be changing in 2017, following the amalgamation of the former Gosford and Wyong Local Government Areas (LGA)s.

For garden growers, flower fanatics and plant propagators who want the opportunity to be a part of this 30 year tradition, entries for this year’s competition are now open with 13 diverse categories to choose from. To be eligible, gardens must be located in the former Gosford City Council LGA.

Judged by a professional gardener, the 2016 Garden Competition will conclude a regional institution that has honoured the work of our greatest gardeners and horticulturalists, and has unearthed some of our most talented newcomers to the gardening scene.

This time-honoured tradition offers recognition to all those who have worked tirelessly to contribute to the beautification of our local environment.

So whether you’re a school, a nursing home, a residential residence or a retirement village, you will find something to suit your niche and highlight your inner horticulturalist.

Categories for the 2016 Garden Competition are:

  1. Champion Residential Garden
  2. Best Eco Friendly Garden (Three awards: Residential; Commercial/Industrial; and Schools (pre/primary/secondary/tertiary)
  3. Best Residential Front Garden
  4. Best Residential Rear Garden
  5. Best Commercial Garden (Excludes nursing homes/retirement villages)
  6. Best School Garden (Two awards: Preschools/Primary Schools and Secondary/Tertiary Institutions)
  7. Best New/Renovated Residential Garden (Established or renovated within the past three years)
  8. Best Theme or Specialty Garden (Three awards: Residential, Commercial and Children’s)
  9. Best Feature in a Domestic Garden (eg. Bird bath, sculpture or water feature, seating area)
  10. Best Patio/Balcony or Villa Courtyard Display
  11. Best Nursing Home/Retirement Village/Over 50s Village Garden (Two awards: Maintained by Professionals and Maintained by Residents/Volunteers)
  12. Best Edible Garden (Two awards: Residential, Community)
  13. Best Waterwise Garden (All entries will be considered for this award)

 Entries for this year's competition close at 5pm, Monday 22 August 2016.

Entry forms are available from Council's Customer Service Centres located at Gosford, Erina and Woy Woy and online at


No votes yet


Add new comment

Last updated : Wed 18 Jul 2018